Home Institution : Institut d'études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) | Position : PhD student | Disciplines : Philosophy , Political Science |

Biography

Following a one-year international youth volunteer service at the Parisian research institution « Yahad-in Unum », Marius Bickhardt obtained a Master's degree in Philosophy at the University of Paris Nanterre in 2020.

In the context of the master's degree "History and Actuality of Philosophy" at the University of Paris Nanterre, his research focused on Frankfurt Critical Theory (Adorno, Horkheimer), German Idealism (Hegel) and political economy (Marx, Mike Davis, David Harvey).

Since September 2021, he is doing a PhD in the field of Political Theory at Sciences Po Paris. The dissertation is supervised by the environmental philosopher Pierre Charbonnier.

 

Researchtopic

Environmental History, Anthropocene, Demography, Population Science, Neomalthusianism, Political Economy, Environmental Inequalities, Climate Justice

 

(cotutelle)
Title of thesis
Earth, capital, surplus population: From Environmental Malthusianism to Ecological Marxism
Summary of thesis

Following his master's thesis on "the problem of surplus population" in Malthus and Marx, his doctorate under the direction of Pierre Charbonnier aims to extend this historical work to a critique of neo-Malthusianism which, since the second half of the 20th century, has provided an analysis of the ecological crisis in demographic terms.

Many authors such as Paul Ehrlich or Garret Hardin have pronounced the neo-Malthusian verdict of catastrophism: we - but especially the Others in the countries of the South - are "too many", the carrying capacity of the Earth's ecosystems will soon be exhausted, causing epidemics, famines and conflicts in a context of resource scarcity.

Starting from a critique of neo-Malthusian environmentalism in particular, he looks more generally at the environmental history of (natalist or anti-natalist) population doctrines since the pre-Malthusians. By questioning the reductive naturalism of concepts such as "optimum population" or "carrying capacity", he aims to critically reflect on the criteria, both natural (planetary limits) and normative (the type of social organization), that permit to establish the concept of "overpopulation". How can we envisage the sustainable reproduction of the collective life of a world population of 10 billion in 2050, while moving beyond intensive agriculture based on fossil infrastructure and synthetic fertilizers that disrupt the nitrogen cycle? Would the city allow for sustainable urbanism through the efficient management of common resources in a post-fossil fuel economy?

In order to propose a critical theory of population that is not only a quantified perspective of demography following the expression of "world population" but that articulates within it different qualitative determinants of population such as demographic evolution in relation to its ecological environment and socio-economic inequalities, he puts forward the heuristic hypothesis of an actualization of the Marxian theory of "relative surplus population". By questioning the conceptual couple population-subsistances, he intends to identify the population surplus as a socio-economic surplus determined by the scarcity of employment and embodied by the "relative surplus working population, surplus to the average needs of capital valorization and therefore superfluous" (Marx).

With the help of the political economy of relative surplus population and in contrast to the catastrophic visions of a "rush to Europe" from the African continent, he is interested in environmental inequalities in the countries of the South and in the horizon of climate justice. How does the ecological crisis, through rising waters, air and soil pollution, threaten the "relative surplus population" of the poor and excluded in the South? What are the effects of the destruction of the natural balance of ecosystems on the socio-economic imbalance between supply and demand of labor in the world economy? How is population growth in non-developing regions likely to increase pressure on labor markets, reinforcing exclusion? These two demo-ecological factors of "dispossession" are likely to favor important exoduses increasing the number of climate refugees. He is therefore interested in how the social and climatic vulnerability that places this population on the front line in the struggle for survival and for a just and sustainable life in the Anthropocene era is likely to be transformed into political power.

Institution of thesis
Institut d'études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po)
Supervisor
Pierre Charbonnier

Earth, capital, surplus population: From Environmental Malthusianism to Ecological Marxism

Mutterinstitut : Institut d'études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) | Position : Doktorand | Fachbereich : Philosophie , Politikwissenschaft , Demographie , Wirtschaftswissenschaften |

Biographie

Im Anschluss an einen einjährigen internationalen Jugendfreiwilligendienst in der Pariser Forschungseinrichtung « Yahad-in Unum » hat Marius Bickhardt im Jahr 2020 einen Masterabschluss in der Philosophie an der Universität Paris Nanterre erlangt.

Im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs « Histoire et actualité de la philosophie » konzentrierte sich seine Forschung auf die Kritische Theorie von Adorno und Horkheimer, die Philosophie Hegels sowie die politische Ökonomie von Marx, Mike Davis und David Harvey.

Seit September 2021 promoviert er im Feld der Politischen Theorie bei Sciences Po Paris. Die Arbeit wird vom Umweltphilosophen Pierre Charbonnier betreut.

Forschungsthema

Umweltgeschichte, Anthropozän, Demografie, Bevölkerungstheorie, Neomalthusianismus, Politische Ökonomie, Ökologische Ungleichheiten, Klimagerechtigkeit

(cotutelle)
Titel der Dissertation

Die Überbevölkerung im Zeitalter des Anthropozäns. Knappheit, Überfluss und Ungleichheiten, 18. bis 21. Jahrhundert

Zusammenfassung der Dissertation

Anknüpfend an seine Masterarbeit zum « Problem der Überbevölkerung » bei Malthus und Marx zielt seine Promotion unter der Leitung von Pierre Charbonnier darauf ab, diese historische Arbeit auf eine Kritik des Neo-Malthusianismus auszudehnen, welcher seit der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts eine demographische Analyse der ökologischen Krise liefert.

Zahlreiche Autoren wie Paul Ehrlich und Garret Hardin haben das neomalthusianische Verdikt des Katastrophismus ausgesprochen: Wir - aber vor allem die Anderen im Süden - seien « zu viele » und die Tragfähigkeit der Ökosysteme der Erde sei bald erschöpft, was in einem Kontext knapper Ressourcen Epidemien, Hungersnöte und Konflikte verursachen werde.

Ausgehend von einer Kritik des neomalthusianischen Umweltdenkens im Besonderen soll die Umweltgeschichte der (natalistischen oder antinatalistischen) Bevölkerungslehren seit den Prä-Malthusianern allgemeiner betrachtet werden. Der reduktionistische Naturalismus von Begriffen wie « optimale Bevölkerungszahl »oder « Tragfähigkeit » soll einer kritischen Reflexion weichen, welche die natürlichen und normativen Kriterien - beispielsweise planetare Grenzen und Formen sozialer Organisation - bestimmt und somit imstande ist, einen kritischen Überbevölkerungsbegriffs zu begründen. Wie ist die nachhaltige Reproduktion des kollektiven Lebens einer Weltbevölkerung von 10 Milliarden Menschen im Jahr 2050 vorstellbar, bei gleichzeitiger Aufgabe von intensiver Landwirtschaft, fossilen Infrastrukturen und synthetischen Düngemitteln, die den Stickstoffkreislauf stören? Ermöglicht der städtische Raum durch die effiziente Verwaltung gemeinsamer Ressourcen in einer postfossilen Wirtschaft einen nachhaltigen Urbanismus?

Um eine kritische Bevölkerungstheorie zu entwerfen, die nicht nur eine quantifizierte Perspektive der Demografie im Sinne der statistischen « Weltbevölkerung » ist, sondern die in sich verschiedene qualitative Determinanten der Bevölkerung wie die demografische Entwicklung in Bezug auf ihr ökologisches Umfeld und sozioökonomische Ungleichheiten artikuliert, stellt er die heuristische Hypothese einer Aktualisierung der Marxschen Theorie der « relativen Überbevölkerung » auf. Das Begriffspaar Bevölkerung-Ressourcen soll in Frage stellt werden, indem der Bevölkerungsüberschuss als ein sozioökonomisches Surplus identifiziert wird, welches durch die Knappheit von Beschäftigungsmitteln bestimmt wird und sich in einer « relative[n], d.h. für die mittleren Verwertungsbedürfnisse des Kapitals überschüssige[n], daher überflüssige[n] oder Zuschuß-Arbeiterbevölkerung » (Marx) verkörpert.

Anhand der politischen Ökonomie der relativen Überbevölkerung und der Umkehrung der katastrophistischen Vision eines « Ansturms auf Europa » ausgehend vom afrikanischen Kontinent will er die ökologischen Ungleichheiten in den Ländern des Südens analysieren und die Frage nach Klimagerechtigkeit stellen. Inwiefern bedroht die ökologische Krise durch steigende Wasser-, Luft- und Bodenverschmutzung die « relative Überbevölkerung » der Armen und Ausgeschlossenen im Süden? Welche Auswirkungen hat die Zerstörung des natürlichen Gleichgewichts der Ökosysteme auf das sozioökonomische Ungleichgewicht zwischen Arbeitsangebot und -nachfrage in der Weltökonomie? Inwiefern wird das Bevölkerungswachstum in den Regionen ohne Entwicklung den Druck auf Arbeitsmärkte erhöhen und somit die Ausgrenzung verstärken? Diese beiden demo-ökologischen Faktoren der « Enteignung » werden einen Klimaexodus befördern, der die Zahl der Klimaflüchtlinge erhöhen wird. Es gilt daher zu untersuchen, inwiefern sich die soziale und klimatische Vulnerabilität, welche diese Bevölkerungsgruppen an erster Stelle im Kampf ums Überleben und um ein gerechtes und nachhaltiges Leben im Anthropozän platziert, in politische Handlungsmacht übersetzen kann.

Institution der Dissertation

Institut d'études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po)

Betreuer

Pierre Charbonnier