Claire Gauthier | Associate Postgraduate

The State, Political Norms and Political Conflicts
Centre Marc Bloch, Friedrichstraße 191, D-10117 Berlin
Email: cg.clairegauthier  ( at )  gmail.com Tel: +49(0) 30 / 20 93 70700

Position : Research assistant / PhD student | Disciplines : Political Science |

Biography

Claire Gauthier has been a research assistant since the end of 2017 at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt on the Oder, located on the German-Polish border, one hour away from Berlin. In this capacity, she supports the activities of the chair that employs her (Kelso professorship for comparative law, Eastern European business law and European legal policy) and the Institute for European Studies

After studying at the Institut for Political Studies in Strasbourg, Uppsala University in Sweden (Erasmus) and the Viadrina University, she graduated with a Franco-German Master's degree in European Studies, specialising in European politics and public affairs.

Organisation of Events

ConsEumer: the social construction of the consumer-citizen in the EU energy transition

Due to climate change, the pressure to adapt behaviours and lifestyles is increasing for consumers and citizens in various fields (nutrition or mobility and energy). This PhD thesis project focuses on the transformation of the social role of energy consumers and citizens, i.e. the rights and duties, attitudes, values and behavioural patterns associated with this (these) status(es), in European policy between 2009 and 2019. 

---

The project assumes the social construction of these roles and approaches this transformation through the prism of actors engaged in the European decision-making process, in particular interest representatives, through the concepts of coalitions (advocacy/discursive) and public policy networks. In particular, the project seeks to invalidate or confirm the hypothesis of a second phase of energy transition and rupture around 2014-2016.

Inspired by political and sociological works related to governementality (Foucault, Dubuisson-Quellier) and to the European construction (sociology of actors, transparency, ambivalence of the Europeanisation process), the project tries to put these theoretical sources in parallel with the literature on sustainable transitions and thus to highlight the political dynamics of behavioural, cultural, techno-economic and political transformations of the European energy transition. 

In terms of methodology, the project is based on the analysis of networks and discourses of transparency data and position papers of interest representatives and institutional documents.

Publications

Scientific publications

Non-scientific publications

Claire Gauthier | Assoziierte Doktorandin

Staat, Recht und politischer Konflikt
Centre Marc Bloch, Friedrichstraße 191, D-10117 Berlin
E-Mail: cg.clairegauthier  ( at )  gmail.com Tel: +49(0) 30 / 20 93 70700

Mutterinstitut : Europa Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) | Position : Akademische Mitarbeiterin / Promovierende | Fachbereich : Politikwissenschaft |

Biographie

Seit Ende 2017 ist Claire Gauthier wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder, die an der deutsch-polnischen Grenze liegt, ca. eine Stunde von Berlin entfernt. Sie unterstützt die Aktivitäten ihres Lehrstuhls (Kelso-Stiftungsprofessur für Rechtsvergleichung, Osteuropäisches Wirtschaftsrecht und Europäische Rechtspolitik) und des Instituts für Europastudien

Nach ihr Studium am Institut für Politischen Studien in Straßburg, an der Universität Uppsala in Schweden (Erasmus) und an der Viadrina-Universität bekam sie einem deutsch-französischen Master-Abschluss in Europastudien, spezialisiert auf europäische Politik und öffentliche Angelegenheiten.

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

Die soziale Konstruktion der Bürger-Verbraucher in der europäischen Energiewende

Aufgrund des Klimawandels nimmt der Druck zur Anpassung von Verhaltensweisen und Lebensstilen für Verbraucher und Bürger in verschiedenen Bereichen (Ernährung oder Mobilität und Energie) zu. Dieses Dissertationsprojekt konzentriert sich auf den Wandel der sozialen Rolle der Energieverbraucher und Bürger, d.h. die mit diesem Status (diesen Status) verbundenen Rechte und Pflichten, Einstellungen, Werte und Verhaltensmuster in der europäischen Politik zwischen 2009 und 2019. 

---

Das Projekt setzt die soziale Konstruktion dieser Rollen voraus und nähert sich dieser Transformation durch das Prisma der am europäischen politischen Prozess beteiligten Akteure, insbesondere der Interessenvertreter, durch die Konzepte der Koalitionen (advocacy/diskursiv) und der Public Policy-Netzwerke. Insbesondere versucht das Projekt, die Hypothese einer zweiten Phase des Energietransfers und des Bruchs um 2014-2016 zu entkräften oder zu bestätigen.

Inspiriert von politikwissenschaftlichen und soziologischen Arbeiten zur Governance von Pipelines (Foucault, Dubuisson-Quellier) und zur europäischen Konstruktion (Akteurssoziologie, Transparenz, Ambivalenz des Europäisierungsprozesses) versucht das Projekt, diese theoretischen Quellen mit der Literatur zu nachhaltigen Übergängen parallel zu setzen und so die politische Dynamik der Verhaltens-, kulturellen und politischen Transformationen der europäischen Energiewende zu beleuchten. 

Methodisch basiert das Projekt auf der Analyse von Netzwerken und Diskursen von Transparenzdaten und Positionspapieren von Interessenvertretern und institutionellen Dokumenten.

Publikationen

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen

Nicht-wissenschaftliche Publikationen

Blayo, M. (2019, septembre 25). L’Union Européenne cherche un consensus sur les questions écologiques. Interview für die französische Tageszeitung La Croix. (abgerufen am 06.06.2020)

Policy brief „Energiegemeinschaften in den 28 Entwürfe der Nationalen Energie und Klimapläne“ im Zusammenarbeit mit REScoop.eu (dem europäischen Verband der Energiekooperativen) und Friends of the Earth Europe (abgerufen am 06.06.2020) (auf Englisch)